Author Topic: Starting my project :Tube cell  (Read 15594 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 657
Re: Starting my project :Tube cell
« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2009, 02:06:51 am »
I recommend a 1" outer tube with a wall of .064  or .065, and a inner tube of 5/8ths of an inch, this also appears to be what stan used as well... Like i said, it is best not to go crazy and order all of them, buy a sample... If you need a source for SS tubing shoot me a pm, i don't think you'll find a cheaper place then where i get mine.

very true.....i bought all 18 of mine......not necessary......

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Administrator
  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4538
    • water structure and science
Re: Starting my project :Tube cell
« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2009, 11:48:29 am »
Hi Kinesis and Waytogo.

First to Waytogo: Sorry for this tube discussion. I can move it towards a different topic, if you want.

Kinesis,

I like this discussion with you. Hope you do the same. Lets try to figure out what Stan wanted to tell.
If i take my rod with outer diameter of 0.5 inch and if i take my tube with inner diameter of, in my case, 0.82 inch, is this the result.

As you can see, i have here some pictures to show you what i see.
innerdiameter of my tube is 20.9mm
Outerdiameter of rod is            14mm
Gapspace is  3.3mm


Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 363
Re: Starting my project :Tube cell
« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2009, 16:25:20 pm »
Forget the gap,just use anything from 1/16,(1.5mm) to 3mm.It will work with both.But remember the important thing is the capacitance.A lager gap will change the capacitance.When calculating your capacitance use the area of the outside tube to calculate it.You will get a more accurate number when using an online plate capacitor calculator.My 3 inch tube set of 1/2 in. and 3/4' in .with 1/16 in .gap measures 2nF.If you measure your tubes with a meter with air only,and run the online calculator with air asthe dielectric,you will see it very close and it works well.Then just change the dielectric to the value of water,Stan uses 78.54, and run again.That will be your capacitance.
Don

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Administrator
  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4538
    • water structure and science
Re: Starting my project :Tube cell
« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2009, 18:24:05 pm »
Forget the gap,just use anything from 1/16,(1.5mm) to 3mm.It will work with both.But remember the important thing is the capacitance.A lager gap will change the capacitance.When calculating your capacitance use the area of the outside tube to calculate it.You will get a more accurate number when using an online plate capacitor calculator.My 3 inch tube set of 1/2 in. and 3/4' in .with 1/16 in .gap measures 2nF.If you measure your tubes with a meter with air only,and run the online calculator with air asthe dielectric,you will see it very close and it works well.Then just change the dielectric to the value of water,Stan uses 78.54, and run again.That will be your capacitance.
Don

Hi Don,

For your info, i do have have both tube sets. So, 1 with a 3mm and a with 1.5mm
You are right about capacitance, but there is one fysical issue here.
As far as i done my homework, and as far as Hydrocars did his tests, i can say that you never ever get 5 gallons an hours vapourized
with a 1.5mm gap. That is fysically NOT possible.
Try to put a variac on this little tubes for one hour.
The flow will stall inside because of the bubbles inside.
Another point is that a bigger gap pulls less amps and that would be an advantage in use with the VIC, if i may believe Stan Meyer.


br
Steve

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 657
Re: Starting my project :Tube cell
« Reply #20 on: February 20, 2009, 19:22:18 pm »
if i take my tube with inner diameter of, in my case, 0.82 inch

you just said it yourself!......hahah so your tube has an inner diameter of .82 inches an equals around 3 mm........now remember the math you were doing earlier???....which was for .75 inches for an outside diameter and you still got around 3mm......now you can see you were doing the math wrong......for an outer tube of .82 inches 3mm is absolutely correct....but for a tube with .75 inches and an inner diameter of .0625 it will come out to 1.5mm.....just remeber you can't subtract then divide ORDER OF OPERATIONS you have to divide before you subtract.....simple rules.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 128
Re: Starting my project :Tube cell
« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2009, 21:27:29 pm »

First to Waytogo: Sorry for this tube discussion. I can move it towards a different topic, if you want.


The outcome of this discussion can benefit us all, and i like to get this as correct as i can, so keep it going Steve & Co

I wonder if this tube set will be a good choice :

SS 304 seamless tubes :

25 x 1 mm for the outer tube
18 x 1,5 for the inner tube

And if my math is correct this will give a 2,5 mm gap... but should i go for a 3 mm gap??..

The lenght of the tubes will be 350 mm or somewhere between 300-400 mm or ca. 12 -16 inches not decided yet.

Stan could have so much as ten tubes in the tank on the buggy since there is ten rows of diodes on the big controller box... just a thought.

You see my plan is to run my car on this... ;D


Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Starting my project :Tube cell
« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2009, 21:37:14 pm »
You seem awfully confident if you think this will run a car .

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 128
Re: Starting my project :Tube cell
« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2009, 21:48:12 pm »
You seem awfully confident if you think this will run a car .


This is just a part of it.

« Last Edit: February 21, 2009, 01:53:59 am by WaytoGo »