Author Topic: My new signal generator  (Read 4412 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.


Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: My new signal generator
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2008, 23:10:41 pm »
nice unit.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 72
Re: My new signal generator
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2008, 00:20:31 am »
nice unit dankie mine looks primitive but that is ok  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
and a shot at my humble lab in the living/salon  ;D ;D ;D ;D
and my scope

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 121
Re: My new signal generator
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2008, 04:49:33 am »
Dankie,

I like that generator !!  I am glad for you,  I hope it works out for you.  Keep us updated on its abilities.  GOOD GOING

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 121
Re: My new signal generator
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2008, 05:06:03 am »
Dankie

You sure have hung in here on this site.  I can tell that you are trying to be an ingredient in the solution of this Stan Meyers work and I respect you for that.  Thanks so very much for obtaining and coating that wire so I and we were saved that trouble.  Thanks for making it so easily available for us.  Thanks again Dankie and a big thumbs up to you.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Moderator
  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: My new signal generator
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2009, 20:52:13 pm »
Im here to inform you about this signal generator .

I am very mad @ myself for buying this generator , I only bought it because @ that time I was admiring 2curious4WFC and saw the same exact gen he used on ebay ...

I cant seem to gate my signal with the signal generator alone , wich is no big problem since I can add another mosfet  , I can sweep freq but my hand can also do that , I can see a digital freq value ...

The buttons are unresponsive 80% of the time , the AC signal is asymmettric in its form , the potentiometer is crap , the users guide is cheap as hell  ...

Id say its a wasted 250$ , I'm *  @ myself for buying this crap , a 20$ model would have been much better .

I could have just taken w/e oscillator circuit and add another seperate mosfet to control the gate for 10$ .

Its that frikkin 2curious4WFC's fault ... I hate wasting money goddammit !!!!!!! Everything was going perfect so far ...

Then again I love my oscilloscope, it oldschool and it works  ;D
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 22:59:53 pm by Dankie »

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 657
Re: My new signal generator
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2009, 21:56:25 pm »
yeah luckily i bought a pulse width modulator with gating and mark space control before purchasing a function generator.....the good thing is you need both for the testing the coil.......you start with the function generator putting out a 50 percent duty cycle pulse at the specific frequency  (frequency sweep) when your inductance matches capacitance in your bifilar wound coil....once you have that frequency.....tune your pulse wdith modulator to that frequency, and apply gating right when the wfc reaches full capacity using your oscilloscope......with a pulse width modulator you can't do a frequency sweep......with a function generator you can't apply gating.....sadly you will need both....or one really good one if they make it.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Moderator
  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: My new signal generator
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2009, 00:16:22 am »
yeah luckily i bought a pulse width modulator with gating and mark space control before purchasing a function generator.....the good thing is you need both for the testing the coil.......you start with the function generator putting out a 50 percent duty cycle pulse at the specific frequency  (frequency sweep) when your inductance matches capacitance in your bifilar wound coil....once you have that frequency.....tune your pulse wdith modulator to that frequency, and apply gating right when the wfc reaches full capacity using your oscilloscope......with a pulse width modulator you can't do a frequency sweep......with a function generator you can't apply gating.....sadly you will need both....or one really good one if they make it.

You bought a pulse width modulator ? or is this just lawtons schematic ?

If its not a lawtons circuit what are you waiting for to rip it apart and share the schematic ?