Author Topic: Stevie1001 and Electrojolts Bob Boyce version  (Read 13545 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 223
Re: Stevie1001 Bob Boyce version
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2008, 07:47:11 am »
Thanks Stevie. great work! simpler than bob`s and yet does the job.

Hm

Online Login to see usernames

  • Administrator
  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
    • water structure and science
Re: Stevie1001 Bob Boyce version
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2008, 13:04:49 pm »
Ok,

The final circuitboard is ready.
I added the switches. In stead of 10 options, i use 5.

So, the dipswitches have a double function.
If you use 1 dipswitchsetting, you have a dutycycle of 10%
If you use 2 switchessettings, you have a dutycycle of 20% etc etc.
So, you can can play with fixed dutycycles between 0 and 50 with use of 5 switchessettings.
If you use the 10% and start with the middle dipswitch setting. (nr.3 of the switch) you will have the
possibility to change phase up and down in steps of 10%. So max 20% up or down.

The circuit, with exception of the FETs are voltage controlled by the 7812 regulator. This means that
you can use a variable powersupply to the board.  This way you can have between the 12 and 30V on the primary coils of the toroid for tuning purposes!

The frequency's are made by 1 oscillatorchip and the 3 harmonic channels are fully in sync with eachother because of that.
The base frequency is adjustable, so you can play with that as well. This means that for example you can have on channel a range from 40 till 45khz.

here moree pics!

br
Steve



Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 368
  • Yes I got Jolted,
Re: Stevie1001 Bob Boyce version
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2008, 21:56:21 pm »
Hey Stevie, great Idea of the deep switches  :)

Can you check the output voltage when you have 20% duty cycle?

The reason I ask, is because when I 1st put this circuit toguether, and doing that (20%) my output voltage would drop to 1/2.

I was using 5 volts.

I found some scope photos that I took when I tested it.

you can see how we can phase shift the 3 frequencies

Online Login to see usernames

  • Administrator
  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
    • water structure and science
Re: Stevie1001 Bob Boyce version
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2008, 22:29:41 pm »
Hey Stevie, great Idea of the deep switches  :)

Can you check the output voltage when you have 20% duty cycle?

The reason I ask, is because when I 1st put this circuit toguether, and doing that (20%) my output voltage would drop to 1/2.

I was using 5 volts.

I found some scope photos that I took when I tested it.

you can see how we can phase shift the 3 frequencies


Yes, you are right that the voltage output of the 4017 drops. Thats why i use 12V for the circuit.
The output must still be ok for steering the FETS. But tests will tell. Otherwise we perhaps have to use 3  FET driver chips. I still have those here on stock....

Great pics!

br
Steve

Online Login to see usernames

  • Administrator
  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
    • water structure and science
Re: Stevie1001 and Electrojolts Bob Boyce version
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2008, 20:00:00 pm »
Finally the toroid is done!

See here 2 pics.
On my scope i ll see very nice spikes when measured on the secondairy coil.

So, it was time to hook all up to my platecell.
Sadly enough, my first run didnt show any improvements at all.
I must be doing something wrong.
Its a long way that i travelled....seems i have more miles to go!

br
Steve

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Stevie1001 and Electrojolts Bob Boyce version
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2008, 20:15:24 pm »
omg i cant believe you made that... way too expensive setup... No OU ... needs electrolyte...

the roroid alone made me back off....

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Stevie1001 and Electrojolts Bob Boyce version
« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2008, 22:23:56 pm »
Finally the toroid is done!

See here 2 pics.
On my scope i ll see very nice spikes when measured on the secondairy coil.

So, it was time to hook all up to my platecell.
Sadly enough, my first run didnt show any improvements at all.
I must be doing something wrong.
Its a long way that i travelled....seems i have more miles to go!

br
Steve
I'm assuming you tested with the new board posted above, 2 caps and using 3 heavy duty chokes as Bob Boyce recommends?
Did you also try various phase shifts?

Online Login to see usernames

  • Administrator
  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
    • water structure and science
Re: Stevie1001 and Electrojolts Bob Boyce version
« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2008, 23:37:10 pm »
The questions is: What would actually happen here?
How can i see that it works or not?

Yes, i have almost 1000uF on my ripled dc output.
The only thing i do not have, are the heavy duty chokes.

If i look at the schematic, my cell gets a almost flat DC thru a coil (secondairy of the toroid).
The 3 primary coils should pulse so that the target voltage of my cell is hit.
So, my cell needs 180V
The step up calc of the prim to sec should also meet the 180V

Well, all is done.
I did some phase shifting. I did some good looking at my scopes.
I did some measuring at my cell.
Well, at my cell, i really do not see anything. NO SPIKES at all.

I can adjust almost everything on this setup.
Not sure where to look at....or for....

Anybody who can assist me here?

br
Steve