Author Topic: Using electrodes to restrict current?  (Read 228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Using electrodes to restrict current?
« on: March 28, 2019, 01:22:25 am »

One way Stan restricted current was by the surface area of the electrodes. This video demonstrates that reducing surface area while maintaining the same water gap increases the total circuit resistance.

In previous videos I explained how to measure the resistance of water, and showed where Stan stated he used the water's resistance to restrict current.

More to come

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 609
Re: Using electrodes to restrict current?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2019, 02:30:44 am »
Its interesting to know that larger surface area requires larger spacing for the same resistance ?

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Using electrodes to restrict current?
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2019, 05:02:30 am »
Yes.

This also means that higher voltages need a smaller surface area.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 609
Re: Using electrodes to restrict current?
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2019, 23:12:33 pm »
Yes.

This also means that higher voltages need a smaller surface area.

I gather youre not working with a 3rd electrode of any kind?

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Using electrodes to restrict current?
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2019, 03:06:37 am »
A third electrode is not needed in Stan's system IMO...

Are you talking about the Farnsworth system?

From what I read Farnsworth used a variable capacitance to tune his circuit. In Stan's VIC the cell itself is a variable capacitor that you tune to.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 609
Re: Using electrodes to restrict current?
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2019, 05:37:32 am »
I prolly wasnt looking at Stans wfc with the 3rd electrode...it may have been his gas processor im not sure.