Author Topic: How to find the efficiency of a fuel cell  (Read 21280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: How to find the efficiency of a fuel cell
« Reply #32 on: May 06, 2008, 01:03:52 am »
 Iv been playing with frequencies the past week and have made some progress. First I’m now powering my alternator with a car stereo amplifier that I fee a full wave rectifier to convert the signal to DC. I am sending the frequency to the amp through my laptop computer. The software will let me do just about anything. The best numbers I got so far are using a lugarithmic sweep from 1000HZ to 10000HZ in 30 MS duration and using a sine wave instead of a square wave. Hydro has converted me to a tap water only tester as a challenge. I am getting 1/2 Liter in 23 sec using 26 amps and 11.58 volts at the cell. My voltage to the rotor is 3.8 volts and .4 amps. If I put much more it stalls the drive motor. My cell gets the best output in a 3 series 3 parallel setup. Still it sucks knowing im still 6 liters/min short to stan the man. I know its possible and its probably very simple.....

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: How to find the efficiency of a fuel cell
« Reply #33 on: May 06, 2008, 01:48:17 am »
I didn’t quite explain that right. IM taking the signal from the output of the amp then into a full wave rectifier to convert it to dc. Here is the freq. pattern IM using. The 30 ms is the one IM using to produce hydrogen and the 1000ms is slowed down so you can get an idea of what it is doing. You might have to loop it.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 267
  • OO-Rah!
Re: How to find the efficiency of a fuel cell
« Reply #34 on: May 06, 2008, 02:40:56 am »
KB

I've been gathering 316L tubing, I got enough 1" X 10", Almost enough 3/4"X 10", Still trying to scavage some 1/2" X 12". The only problem is my gap will be 1.5mm. If I find enough 304L , I can get my gap down to .75 to .8 mm.
This is how I am going to build my new cell, Let me know what you think.

Spike

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: How to find the efficiency of a fuel cell
« Reply #35 on: May 06, 2008, 03:14:31 am »
 That’s going to be a neat design. Is the center tube going to be connected to any power or is it a waste plate? What are you going to make the end plugs out of? The big problem I have is I used methacralate epoxy to glue it together but if I put it under 10 psig or so it starts leaking and its not easy to disassemble and re glue. That will be interesting to see what the larger gap will do. I am in the process of making more cells myself. I want to see if 12 will improve the output.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 267
  • OO-Rah!
Re: How to find the efficiency of a fuel cell
« Reply #36 on: May 06, 2008, 04:29:58 am »
KB

This is how I plan on setting it up. But I would like to try it out under a vacuum with a valve before the cell to vary  the psi , and under pressure, to see if there is a difference. How many gpm is your pump.

Spike

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 223
Re: How to find the efficiency of a fuel cell
« Reply #37 on: May 06, 2008, 08:58:32 am »
Nice design Spike, You can still connect a flange on top of the tubes, and one to the bottom of the tubes. However if you apply high water pressure caps may pop out. Look this might be of interest to you : ) without fearing of caps poping off  ;)

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 267
  • OO-Rah!
Re: How to find the efficiency of a fuel cell
« Reply #38 on: May 06, 2008, 11:50:16 am »
Hydrogenmask

Good idea, If I mill the ends out of at least 1" thick teflon blocks, 2" if I can find some. I can press it all together. I'll keep this in mind, Thanks

Spike

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 223
Re: How to find the efficiency of a fuel cell
« Reply #39 on: May 06, 2008, 12:16:49 pm »
with a car stereo amplifier that I feed a full wave rectifier to convert the signal to DC. I am sending the frequency to the amp through my laptop computer.

Hi Karebill. did you tried not to rectify the feeded signal to the rotor? The overall output from the six-pack rectifier would still be DC rectified

HyrogenMask