Author Topic: How to build the vic tried and tested  (Read 37690 times)

0 Members and 7 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: How to build the vic tried and tested
« Reply #80 on: August 29, 2011, 02:31:58 am »
hi andy
 
keep it single layer if i understand you correctly. no this does not apply to the other coils. there is still more to learn like wire gauge, i think smaller wire size looks like a better option. with feedback being low i think a lot of people have given up a long time ago which is a shame.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 69
Re: How to build the vic tried and tested
« Reply #81 on: August 29, 2011, 07:44:10 am »
Spintronic
By " single " You mean only one layer for the primary coil or can be more than one layer for primary but all loop in layer wound clockwise and wound with progresion (every next loop)  in one direction ( from left to right ) on the spool?
mayby You understand my corectly?
thank
andy

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 460
    • Global Kast : Water Fuel Cell Research
Re: How to build the vic tried and tested
« Reply #82 on: August 29, 2011, 09:19:04 am »
In the tri-coil (6-1) Stan has it wound the best way possible to give the best coupling between the Primary and Secondary/Choke combination. Just think of the secondary and chokes as a combined coil, basically thats what it is just separated by a diode. In a transformer configuration to get the best coupling you wont to divide you secondary up into two sections, an upper and lower section. The lower section should be placed closest to the core and then wrap your primary coil over that lower secondary section. After that you want to wrap your upper secondary section over the primary coil, this will give you the highest coupling possible. This is why Stan made the coil the way he did. Also by bifilar wrapping the lower secondary section (chokes) it will give you a greater potential difference magnification due to the currents flowing in the same parallel direction.

(http://www.globalkast.com/images/stanmeyer/vicforinjectorwithcolor.jpg)

When Stan say dual wrapped bidirectional primary he means it should wrapped like in this image.

(http://i1025.photobucket.com/albums/y320/h2opower/BDwrap.gif)

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 85
Re: How to build the vic tried and tested
« Reply #83 on: August 29, 2011, 12:23:14 pm »
hi, might seem a silly question but, did stan use the vic coil in the injector setup?

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 460
    • Global Kast : Water Fuel Cell Research
Re: How to build the vic tried and tested
« Reply #84 on: August 29, 2011, 19:58:07 pm »
yes, this VIC coil was used only in the injector setup. At resonance if should put out as Meyer states 20kv - 40kv and even higher.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 184
Re: How to build the vic tried and tested
« Reply #85 on: August 29, 2011, 21:32:59 pm »
Andy
Here's a vic I wound last night watching football.  8mm ferrite rod 8 inches long.  Top third single layer iron wire choke, middle third single layer iron wire primary, bottom third single layer iron wire choke.  Secondary single layer complete rod length in red 28 gauge copper.
Works OK for gas, when run up to 50v in it stays at 80ma, probably needs more iron wire for chokes to further reduce amps.  12v in, 30ma at tube, 750v ptp at 10khz.
The iron wire experiments continue.  Ferrite core is the way to go.
kb
 
 
 

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Jr. member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: How to build the vic tried and tested
« Reply #86 on: August 30, 2011, 06:19:54 am »
@andy
 
start your winding at the top of the spool and wind a single layer down to the bottom. use iron wire, make it a tight winding with no bends or kinks.
 
@kb
 
i would not use copper dude, how does it stop normal "transformer action" from happening?

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 69
Re: How to build the vic tried and tested
« Reply #87 on: August 30, 2011, 06:46:19 am »
Hi Spintronic
Primary coil must be made only one layer - correct? ( more layer in not allowed? what if  I want more turn of wire  but my spool is short? ) ?
Sorry for my english and mayby stupid question.
andy
« Last Edit: August 30, 2011, 09:06:39 am by andy »