Author Topic: Transformer with VIC setup  (Read 10523 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 136
Re: Transformer with VIC setup
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2010, 05:21:46 am »
Hi Outlawstc,

I had to go back to the technical brief to perhaps clear up what I was trying to explain.  Look at figure 3-5 of the technical brief.  Follow the path from the laser accelerator to the VIC.  The analog voltage generator is separate and somewhere inbetween.  There's logic to manage and control it.  So what could an analog voltage generator be?  I believe it might be similar to figure 7-13.  Maybe I'm right maybe I'm wrong.

Andy

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Transformer with VIC setup
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2010, 05:41:37 am »
o that ... well thats not easy to do at all with much amps trust me , things can get messy with even 5 volts logic pulsing a 12v transistor . You can probably make the signal @ low power on a breadboard without too much problems ...

Thats why I use all cmos with my pulser , all @ same pressure , much less problems .

What happens is that analog signals like sine wavea and op amps and digital signals dont like to me mixed for some reason ,  they need seperate ground return paths , and the power circuit needs also his own personal return path . They can all share the same +Power path tho , as long as its big and low impedance . And they need big return paths with low impedance (inductance) .If you tried to amplify that wave @ much amps you could start seeing some digital noise right on your wave . I am an eye witness to that phenomenon .




Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: Transformer with VIC setup
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2010, 05:50:33 am »
you woulds have to have some type of circuit that allows potetial to to be transmited at a regulative level forming ramps pulses.. think what will happen is u have a ramping pulse going from 0-12volts  and that ramping pulse has a digitial signal being gated on the other side of the coil ....lets say the digital is pulsing 10 time while the ramp is rising in volt.. this digital being a 50 percent duty... on off time of the digital sig the ramp of potential at a proportional rate to the 10 pulses.. so even though gates off for digital there is still a rise in diplacement in the primary going on...then on the on time it has a chance to form current at a higher amp due to more volt being present in primary.. so its kinda like instead of just maintaining a constant 12 on the battery side of primarys connection when allowing a ramp signal with a gate you are not forceing amps to go from nothin to rapidy jump in primary it eases current into primary in a accerlating manner..  maybe this is a technique for better energy transmission into secondary and chokes? 

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Transformer with VIC setup
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2010, 06:03:44 am »
I am familar with those ramp circuit , that is how I had genius idea of making a phase shifter .\

What I did is I delayed   reference 50/50 square wave by 90 degrees with a xor and flipped flopped it  and had a square wave right in the middle of that wider ramp , wich was synched with the wave that formed that 90 degree late wave . I would then connect a comparator to that circuit and choose my treshold lvl , I could choose between 45 degress before the starting edge and 45 degress after the falling edge . That was my f/2 , I did the same thing for f/4 .

Problem was that things dont always go so nice in reality , noise can cause late or early threshold , it was unstable . Just breathing on it can cause it to jitter .


Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: Transformer with VIC setup
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2010, 06:20:46 am »
was your ramp pulse in the form of neg potential or positive... meaning are u trying to force electrons out of a circuit to appear as a ramp pulse or are you variating positive potiental apearance in a coil whicc is a gate thats not having the force of electrons across it rather the vaccum of electrons through it from the constant positive 12v source that its connected to

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Transformer with VIC setup
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2010, 06:45:11 am »
here is a circuit for you , unfortunately I dont have the circuit for that ramp ave lol , I usedto just google it andalways find it , all rampe wave generator circuits are gone when googlin .

op amp should be an op amp made for dc powr + and ground pins.

Let me go and check my page , I linked it somewhere .

http://www.maxim-ic.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/3655

Super op amp is gonna be your discovery , it needs fast slew rate for sure and good current .


Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Transformer with VIC setup
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2010, 14:18:21 pm »
LOL MORE COFFEE , MUST FINISH !!! :P

Looks like I will be late once again .

Only 10 days left before school , the pcb will take at least 2-3 weeks to come in .

Today im ordering it yep , bored out of my mind recheking for mistakes .

O yea , use the lm3900 as a dc op amp.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 14:38:09 pm by Dankie »

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: Transformer with VIC setup
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2010, 15:49:16 pm »
(http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j243/outlawstc/MeyerFig.gif)

(http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j243/outlawstc/digital5-20khz.jpg)