Author Topic: Oscilloscope  (Read 8124 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 363
Re: Oscilloscope
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2009, 16:32:42 pm »
Ebay has dozens of scope probes for around $20 most are 100mhz,they will work fine
Don

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 128
Re: Oscilloscope
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2009, 18:42:44 pm »

It was also called Heath and the modell number was not 10 -14 but IO-14... it was produced from 1966 to 1971

Here is a link to someone who got the manual : http://nrwilliamson.tripod.com/HEATHMAN.HTM

And here is one for sale for 10 Dollars : http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/mld/ele/1486144424.html

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 980
Re: Oscilloscope
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2009, 19:20:49 pm »
Thank you guys!

I sent an email to the guy with the Manual, also mentioned to him I need probes, hopefully I'll get some info back from him.

I don't know anything about probes, I'll spend a few hours reading about them and see if I can figure them out.

I think it would be kind of neat to get this working. I will keep myself open to other scope options.

Does anyone here run a PC scope? any suggestions?

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Oscilloscope
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2009, 19:41:44 pm »
Probes are not very complicated , you connect the + and - to your  little input coax . Your oscilloscope too looks very simple  .Mine has like 50 buttons , half of them I never use , A manual is just too complicated , I played with it and discovered what buttons did what etc ...

Be careful with home made probes , they have inductance and leaves  little kicks and might make you think that theres  something wrong when theres not .

For a free scope that is good . A  PC scope is just pure crap , analog is just simpler to use and better quality .


Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 980
Re: Oscilloscope
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2009, 20:08:05 pm »
I think this is the kind of probe it uses

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v81/bigbuba/337c.jpg)

notice the ends are split, and it plugs into two plugs on the front of the scope.

Now to find some...

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Oscilloscope
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2009, 22:19:04 pm »
Dam , now thats something I never saw , a 2 piece probe lol .

Usually they are coax that you just snap in .

You will def not be able to buy one  like that , a home made  one will be good enough for your needs seriously , it  becomes a problem with fast rise/fall squares waves @ 100+ khz and the like  . 

If you were to design circuits and pulsing  devices then you would need a more modern scope , but for checking the waves from an alternator and the VIC  it wont be an issue .

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 980
Re: Oscilloscope
« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2009, 22:27:32 pm »
Hmm.... how might i find out how to make a home-made probe?