Author Topic: High Voltage Circuit (VIC)  (Read 17726 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Moderator
  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 434
Re: High Voltage Circuit (VIC)
« Reply #32 on: December 20, 2009, 15:17:07 pm »
Sounds great, wegmug. If you cannot find resonance, you always can use an external cap and use the wfc as resistor.

Lego forever!

 ;D
Yep, that's an option!

br,
Webmug

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 980
Re: High Voltage Circuit (VIC)
« Reply #33 on: December 20, 2009, 21:23:07 pm »
Lego WFC, brilliant!

Nice work!

do you mean an external cap in series? if so...
I don't think you can use an external cap to make the wfc resonate properly, the reason is that you have two resonant charging chokes, each resonanting with one side of the cell, or it is resonanting on/from both sides of the cell at the same time, as well as you need equal and opposite voltage on each plate, so if you add a cap and use the wfc as a resistor then it will change the point at which you are resonating about, and have different voltage on each plate.

if you used two identical caps on each side of the wfc in series with the chokes then you could get it to resonate on both sides with that

or if you used your external cap in parallel with the cell that might work

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: High Voltage Circuit (VIC)
« Reply #34 on: December 20, 2009, 21:29:35 pm »
i agree with donald .. brillant idea  webmug!!

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: High Voltage Circuit (VIC)
« Reply #35 on: December 20, 2009, 21:55:43 pm »
i started searching  for a plastic vise and i came across one that has the product label-- Mini Plastic Vise for use with Water    haha

http://www.hobbylinc.com/htm/zon/zon37-210.htm

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Moderator
  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 434
Re: High Voltage Circuit (VIC)
« Reply #36 on: December 20, 2009, 21:58:58 pm »
Lego WFC, brilliant!

Nice work!

do you mean an external cap in series? if so...
I don't think you can use an external cap to make the wfc resonate properly, the reason is that you have two resonant charging chokes, each resonanting with one side of the cell, or it is resonanting on/from both sides of the cell at the same time, as well as you need equal and opposite voltage on each plate, so if you add a cap and use the wfc as a resistor then it will change the point at which you are resonating about, and have different voltage on each plate.

if you used two identical caps on each side of the wfc in series with the chokes then you could get it to resonate on both sides with that

or if you used your external cap in parallel with the cell that might work

I think the two plates acts like one capacitor, thus choke coil L1 and (LEGO) WFC forms one series LC(R) circuit.
The L2 choke coil is also connected to the WFC but in opposite direction from L1, so it forms also a LC(R) circuit but magnetically coupled to L1 choke coil, so it resonates at the same frequency used for L1. It's extremely important that the L1-L2 choke coils are identical, so current is being restricted.

If a external capacitor is used then it must be parallel connected to WFC. But then the WFC is not preforming at max.

br,
Webmug

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Moderator
  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 434
Re: High Voltage Circuit (VIC)
« Reply #37 on: December 20, 2009, 22:00:56 pm »
i started seaching for a plastic vise and i cam acros one that has the product label-- Mini Plastic Vise for use with Water    haha

http://www.hobbylinc.com/htm/zon/zon37-210.htm

Also, good idea, but you will get wet hands. :P

br,
Webmug

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: High Voltage Circuit (VIC)
« Reply #38 on: December 20, 2009, 22:34:00 pm »
Quote
Also, good idea, but you will get wet hands. :P

now with a little work of genius one would modify the knob to meet the needs of operation.. just a quick step for one without the tools to create such operation parmeters from raw material...


i have been thinking on current and how we need to match the impeadance of the chokes to meet primarys..  i think i have a good perspective to consider with current...  i think it can be seen in a basic way and in a more complex...

simple way is how a amp meter works.. its function is to tell you how many electrons are passing a given line in a local space (the wire) the count a amp meter will give doesnt consider the parameters  of the wire confining the traveling charge... 

the more complex view would be to consider how many  electrons are passing a given point in a wire.. when i say a given point i mean considering the interaction from the perspective of one copper atom in the circuit and the  count of its exchange of electrons in its unipolar direction (DC).. once figuring that out you know the actual speed of moving charge and you match that perspective of exchange for your primary and choke then can couple ground through its arbitrary connection (mosfet) along with primary to me this seems like a way to take out signal degration factor during pulsing..

Offline Login to see usernames

  • 50+
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: High Voltage Circuit (VIC)
« Reply #39 on: December 20, 2009, 23:34:27 pm »
That is some nice improv Webmug , I am using the method of photo stand and spacing them further apart with my hands , its a bit ghetto .

I have to think of a better mounting point so I dont mess up the damping factor , but everything is just a bitch to fit , have to hacks and saw plastic ... grrrrrr