Author Topic: Buck's Alternator  (Read 12004 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
Re: Buck's Alternator
« Reply #16 on: March 10, 2008, 19:40:03 pm »
here it is
(http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i283/carbednotch/stuff005.jpg)
(http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i283/carbednotch/stuff004.jpg)

And here go my 3 wires:
(http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i283/carbednotch/stuff006.jpg)

Now I just need to take the bridges out. I'm planning on using a heat gun to make it easy to stuff a socket on those nuts still holding fast.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
Re: Buck's Alternator
« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2008, 20:39:30 pm »
(http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i283/carbednotch/alt.jpg)

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
Re: Buck's Alternator
« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2008, 20:57:55 pm »
So I completely take out the diode bridge and re-assemble the alt w/the 3 wires sticking out right?

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
Re: Buck's Alternator
« Reply #19 on: March 11, 2008, 21:19:38 pm »
(http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i283/carbednotch/alt001.jpg)

Got the alternator back together with my wires all hooked up.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
Re: Buck's Alternator
« Reply #20 on: March 11, 2008, 21:21:29 pm »
Now what do I do with the diode bridge?

hydro

  • Guest
Re: Buck's Alternator
« Reply #21 on: March 11, 2008, 22:17:25 pm »
hello Carb, you have 6 diodes connected to your stator now, you should now have 2 wires that is dc ouput. you take the rotor wires and hook them to the 2 wires comming from the diodes, this will jump it to full power. to regulate, you add a fet between a wire comming from the rotor going to the stator.


i have been pulsing my rotor lately, i have found it to work very good as well. the self powered way works great, but you have to baby it and change freq all the time, i think i will be moving on to pulsing the rotor even though it uses about 2 amps more to do it this way, i feel its worth it not to have to baby it when its running. the circuit i use to pulse the rotor is just like the dave lawton circuit, but i use around a 4 uf cap, i will have to look.

Offline Login to see usernames

  • Administrator
  • Hero member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4462
    • water structure and science
Re: Buck's Alternator
« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2008, 23:18:26 pm »
It looks like somebody shoot an alternator.... ;D

Ok,

I read that you have the diodes outside.
Put the 3 wires of the stator to the diodes as you see on the drawing.
If you do not know what the right side of the diodes are, just take a multimeter and measure .
at the end , you have a plus and a minus pole, which you can connect to the wfc.
I see only 3 wires.
You are still able to feed the rotor with power?

br
Steve


Offline Login to see usernames

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
Re: Buck's Alternator
« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2008, 23:26:42 pm »
(http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i283/carbednotch/alt003.jpg)
Got everything mounted.
Thank you hydro and stevie !!!!