Author Topic: U core vic  (Read 11159 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Hidden

  • Moderator
  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
Re: U core vic
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2011, 15:39:39 pm »
thanks for the advice!
you are correct, I am using tap water that I wouldn't even drink haha I can't really change my input power with my setup so I will try distilled water. I never really expected current draw to be the problem, in fact my current reading at the cell is so low that I produce nothing through electrolysis, not even a single bubble. Could this still be an issue?

Offline Hidden

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
Re: U core vic
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2011, 07:16:37 am »
120v @ 1ma is still only 1ma. While you are putting in some watts if your current draw is so low that if you were aiming for brute force electrolysis your production would be tiny.
I bet if you left it on for a while the water would heat up and you would get a tiny beading on the surface of your tubes...

Offline Hidden

  • Moderator
  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
Re: U core vic
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2011, 13:47:24 pm »
Ok yeah I see what your saying, so it could still be an issue, I'll pick up some distilled water this weekend. I'll try some water from my dehumidifier first 

Offline Hidden

  • Moderator
  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
Re: U core vic
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2011, 03:21:41 am »
Gas production!!
not a lot, in fact its really small haha
i made a video
It would be best to watch on on a computer and with it in the larger view to really see the gas.

Anyway, Since my coils are so large (around 6 henrys for secondary and both chokes each)  I made a small one inch test cell because i needed a much smaller capacitance. Voltage at the cell was between 290 and 330 volts ac. Amps at the cell average about 5 micro amps but I have seen between .7 micro amps and 10 micro amps without changing production. If I leave the cell on for a few minutes gas production doubles and triples which still isn't very much. voltage also raises with gas production. I really want to use a pll to keep it at resonance because its really really touchy. The current didn't change in the same manor. One of the  most interesting things I observed was that the gas seemed to be charged. The positive alligator clip is half way out of the water and some of the bubbles are attracted towards is and some are pushed away! after i turn everything off, a much larger plume of gas is released from the tubes.
what are your thoughts? do you think this production is just electrolysis?

Offline Hidden

  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 460
    • Global Kast : Water Fuel Cell Research
Re: U core vic
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2011, 07:44:49 am »
What kinda current readings are you getting on the Primary side?

Offline Hidden

  • Moderator
  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
Re: U core vic
« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2011, 21:13:02 pm »
I tryed to take some current measurements today and noticed my meter is not functioning properly. It reads voltage just fine but disregard the amp reading for now. I'll get a new meter as soon as I can. Sorry guys

Offline Hidden

  • Moderator
  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
Re: U core vic
« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2011, 16:15:06 pm »
Last night I dropped $80 on a new meter. To my surprise I'm getting the same small ac micro amp measurements.

Tony, I can't seem to get any reading across the primary except for an even smaller ac signal than at the cell which just wouldn't make sense; I tryed measuring it in every way I could. I used two different meters and even tryed measuring in reference to ground.

I had the circuit on for an hour or so last night, after it runs for a few minutes I can adjust the frequency for a higher voltage and gas production increases as well. I probably adjusted it 20 times in an hours for better results

Offline Hidden

  • Moderator
  • Sr. member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
Re: U core vic
« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2011, 21:29:55 pm »
Also, the Vic stops functioning when I try to read the current an the primary, weird